February 28, 2007

  • "I get to work in a job that I love, but I have always worked at a job that I loved. I loved it
    just as much when I thought it was a big deal to make $1,000. I urge you to work in jobs
    that you love. I think you are out of your mind if you keep taking jobs that you don’t like
    because you think it will look good on your resume. I was with a fellow at Harvard the
    other day who was taking me over to talk. He was 28 and he was telling me all that he
    had done in life, which was terrific. And then I said, 'What will you do next?' 'Well,'
    he said, 'Maybe after I get my MBA I will go to work for a consulting firm because it
    will look good on my resume.' I said, 'Look, you are 28 and you have been doing all
    these things, you have a resume 10 times than anybody I have ever seen. Isn't that a little
    like saving up sex for your old age?'

    "There comes a time when you ought to start doing what you want. Take a job that you
    love. You will jump out of bed in the morning."

    - Warren Buffet, in a speech to University of Florida MBA students, October 15, 1998.

Comments (2)

  • hmmm, very interesting.. but i'm not too sure what to say, lol. maybe i just have a different mindset- getting my mba is not for my resume, it's because i need it for my current job (stevens is not enough! hehe :)

  • ahh yes, which is why I need a new job now! don't want to wait forever to have a job I will enjoy

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment